Club Awards

Four club awards were established to recognize Orienteering Ottawa members each year. The awards were named in memory of Brian Graham, Pat de St. Croix, Colin Kirk and Pierre Brassard, past members of the orienteering community, to celebrate their unique contributions to our sport. The formation of the awards was inspired in 2016 by a donation by CH2M (now Jacobs), a company where Brian Graham worked.

Each year, in November, we'd like to hear from you! Is there a member of our club who you can always count on to lend a hand on Sunday mornings? Perhaps one of our youth members whose positive attitude you admire? Does anyone come to mind as "Captain Orienteering" to you?

Click on the recipient names below to see why they were chosen.

Colin Kirk Memorial Award - Aspiring Junior of the Year

Colin Kirk The Colin Kirk Award recognizes Colin’s connection to Junior Development in our club. Colin Kirk was one of Canada's orienteering pioneers. As Executive Director for over 20 years, most of them in a volunteer role, he was instrumental in the growth of the sport across the country in the 70's and 80's. Of the many aspects of orienteering that benefited from Colin’s involvement, one that stands out was his support and encouragement of junior athletes. The Colin Kirk Memorial Award honours a young Orienteering Ottawa athlete who: 

  • is 18 years old or younger during the past year
  • will have made considerable improvements in his or her performance and achievements
  • has been a positive role model for other juniors
  • has contributed to the improvement of other junior athletes.

Recipients:  2016  Thomas Lindale ;  2017  Evan Raz ;  2018  Evan Gibbard  ; 2019 Lukas Raz;  2020 Hayden Smith;  2021 Lukas Raz;  2022 Hayden Smith; 2023 Daniel Mahoney


Pat de St. Croix Memorial Award - Volunteer of the Year

Pat de St. Croix Pat de St. Croix was an outstanding contributor to the development of the sport of orienteering in Canada. She was a fixture in the orienteering community from the very earliest days of Orienteering in Canada - the early 70s. She worked tirelessly for our sport at the club (Niagara and Ottawa) and at the national level as COF President in the 1980's. She was a volunteer who stood out among volunteers. The Pat de St. Croix Memorial Award recognizes Pat’s volunteerism by honouring an Orienteering Ottawa member who has, over the past year:

  • Contributed a significant amount of time to volunteer in local orienteering events in any capacity.
  • Made a significant impact to the Ottawa Orienteering Club or raised the profile of orienteering in the community, in other organizations or schools.
  • Shown a commitment to personal development, teamwork and supporting the development of others.
  • Demonstrated leadership in the club

Recipients:  2016  Rob Haddow ;  2017  Anita Brattland; 2018 Richard and Lorna Guttormson; 2019 Karen Tippett; 2020 Rorry Harding; 2021 Kumiko Murasugi ; 2022 Sheldon Hancock ; 2023 Stefan Bergstrom


Pierre Brassard Memorial Award - Orienteering Spirit

Pierre Brassard Pierre, a former club president, was always smiling, always full of life, always out to beat the orienteering course. He particularly loved the longer events, but he enjoyed every orienteering format. Pierre was welcoming, he was friendly, he was encouraging, he challenged himself, and he had fun. The Pierre Brassard Memorial Award recognizes Pierre’s spirit and is awarded to an Orienteering Ottawa member who has :

  • Shown the true sprit of orienteering
  • Sets him or herself high personal challenges
  • Shown a welcoming spirit to newcomers in the sport
  • Encouraged members to increase their participation, either competitively or by helping with the organizing of events.

Recipients:  2016  Francis Kawam ;  2017  Anne and Eric Teutsch; 2018  Linda Connell; 2019 Randy Kemp; 2020 Michael Raz; 2021 Andrew Cornett and Cathy Bakker; 2022 Paul Lefebvre ; 2023 Cherie Revells


Brian Graham Memorial Award  - Orienteer of the Year 

Brian Graham Brian Graham was an elite orienteer for many years representing Canada at international competitions in Europe and North America. He was involved in Orienteering Ottawa as an athlete, meet official, mapper, coach, and a mentor. Brian held several Canadian and North American Orienteering Championships medals and he competed in M21 categories well beyond his age, running the elite categories for as long as he was able. In the 80's and 90’s he competed in many World Orienteering Championships, with his best finish being 36th in 1993 Champs in West Point, USA.

He also was an exceptional course setter officiating many club events and setting courses for numerous B-meet, A-meets, and championships, as well as being involved in coaching clinics. Those who worked with Brian on course setting may have known that he particularly loved incorporating at least one long leg that would offer many route choices.

Brian was known as a true sportsman, a role model and an inspiration.

The recipient of this award will have:

  • Been an orienteering role model and inspired others.
  • Exceptional orienteering performance and/or skills either over the course of the year or in a specific event.
  • Exhibited special qualities that set them apart from others, i.e. dedication and perseverance
  • Shown true sportsmanship
  • Helped mentor others to success
  • Inspired other athletes to reach their goals

Recipients:  2016  Robert Graham ;  2017  Emily Kemp; 2018  Stefan Bergström; 2019 Eric Kemp; 2020 Alex Bergstrom; 2021 Jeff Teutsch; 2022 Eric Kemp ; 2023 Marketa Graham

Event of the Year

In 2023 this new award was established to recognise all the hard work put in by our many meet organizers.

Recipient : 2023 O-Fest Knock Out Sprint